Members of city council serve on a variety of committees, boards, and commissions in order to move city business forward.

All committee meetings, where public debate is welcomed, are generally held at 6:30 p.m. on the first and third Mondays of each month. Details may be found at Meeting Schedules, Agendas & Legislation.

Standing Council Committees

The standing committees are assigned so that a smaller body may delve into issues and plans, and then report back to the greater council. These committees are listed in the order in which they present their business to the public.

Standing Committee Chair Vice Chair Member
Planning & Zoning Spinner Siegferth Stams, Brillhart, Loza
Finance & Appropriations Nichols-Rhodes Brillhart Penta, Ashton, Siegferth
Public & Industrial Improvements Penta Stams James, Loza, DeRemer
Public Affairs Loza Ashton James, Stams, DeRemer
Community Development Siegferth Ashton Nichols-Rhodes, Penta, Spinner
Sustainability, Energy & Environment Nichols-Rhodes Stams ALL

Intermittent Council Committees

The intermittent committees are assigned when variable or corresponding business is called.

Intermittent Committee Purpose
Ad Hoc Council Rules When necessary, takes on business that is not addressed by standing committees.
Committee on Committees James, Brillhart, Nichols-Rhodes, Penta, Balthis

Council Representation on Boards & Commissions

In order to better represent the residents of Cuyahoga Falls, council members are assigned to a variety of boards and commissions.

Board or Commission Member Member Alternate
Americans with Disabilities Act Advisory Committee Ashton    
Capital Cost Surcharge Hardship Committee Stams    
City Tree Board Ashton   Nichols-Rhodes
Community Reinvestment Area Housing Council Siegferth    
Curfew Penalty Review Board Siegferth    
Design & Historic Review Board Brillhart Penta  
Emergency Medical Services Board of Review Penta    
Evaluation, Review & Appeal Committee Ashton Spinner  
Land Preservation Commission Stams    
Moral Claims Commission Nichols-Rhodes   Brillhart
Planning Commission Spinner   Siegferth
Public Art Board Penta    
Tax Incentive Review Council Nichols-Rhodes    
Telecommunications Advisory Committee Penta Loza  
Traffic Committee DeRemer   Loza
Sanitary Hardship Committee Nichols-Rhodes