Call the police department and advise the dispatcher that you would like to make a telecommunications harassment report. An officer will be sent to your house to take the report. After you make the report, you will need to call your phone company’s call annoyance bureau with the police department report number. The phone company can help you beyond this point, as different phone companies may work in different ways.
Call the police department at 9-1-1.
Yes, but it is always best for the officer responding to the complaint to be able to follow-up with the person who has the most knowledge about the problem. If it does turn into an arrest, our law department’s prosecution of the arrested party could be greatly improved with you as a witnessing party. Without that information, the law department may have a difficult time prosecuting those who have broken the law.
Additionally, there is the Crime Fighters Anonymous Tip Line, (330) 971-TIPS, offering financial rewards for anonymous tips on crime.
There are three ways to make a police report:
- Dial 9-1-1 for life threatening emergencies or crimes that are occurring at the time of your call.
- For non-emergencies, or events that are not life threatening or occurring at the time you call, dial (330) 928-2181.
- Stop by the police department, located within the Cuyahoga Falls Municipal Building, 2310 Second St, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio 44221.
When you call the police department’s non-emergency line (330) 928-2181 you will speak to a dispatcher in our dispatch center. Through this dispatcher, you will be able to report all needed information. This may include: crimes, fires, drunk drivers, broken water mains, downed lines, or anything other topic that requires action. The dispatcher may collect personal information including your location, name, and contact information. You will be asked to either remain on the line, or hang up. At that time, the dispatcher will call the agency that can best handle the problem you reported.
When you call 9-1-1, you may hear clicks before you speak to a dispatcher. DO NOT HANG UP. You are being connected through a system that will provide the dispatcher your location prior to the dispatcher picking up the phone, with the exception of cell phones. For this reason, should you feel that it is unsafe to stay with your phone or speak, as in the case someone may be inside your home, the dispatcher will be able to send a patrol unit to your location. Remember though, that the more information you can give the dispatcher, the quicker you will receive help.
The state's attorney general’s office has prepared answers to all questions involving Ohio's concealed carry laws.
Sunday night through Thursday night curfew is set for 11:00 p.m. for those 17 years old or younger. On Friday and Saturday nights, curfew is midnight for those 17 years old or younger. This does not change during the summer. There is also a 'special event curfew' for the downtown area at Falls River Square and the Cuyahoga Falls Municipal Campus which requires that after 9:00 p.m. those under 18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
Tickets may be paid at the Cuyahoga Falls Mayor's Court located in the city building. This applies to traffic citations, parking citations, and minor misdemeanor citations. For questions regarding the Mayor's Court call (330) 971-5650.
All citations can be contested, but some citations require a court appearance. Other citations may be waived without a court appearance. To find out specifically what the options are in your specific circumstance, visit or call the Cuyahoga Falls Mayor's Court at (330) 971-5650.
Yes. Free bicycle licensing is available at the police department 24 hours a day. Bicycle licensing helps officers locate stolen bicycles by providing more information about your bicycle, such as color, serial number, and model number.
What happens depends on many things. If you made an informational report only, the report is added to our database and no further contact is necessary unless the problem reoccurs. If you filed a criminal report, but declined prosecution, the report is added to our database and no further contact is typically needed. If you filed a criminal report and requested prosecution, our detective bureau follows up with an investigation.
Oftentimes your city council member can be of assistance in handling challenges in your neighborhood. Visit the city council department page for more specifics on who your representative is, and how to contact them. If the problem is criminal in nature, but not urgent, call the non-emergency number at (330) 928-2181.
No. Effective June 1, 2006, the Ohio Attorney General's Office mandated that all job applicant and volunteer fingerprint cards must be submitted electronically. There is a list of local agencies that perform this function in our lobby, or visit the online web check community listing. Please be advised that there is a cost associated with this service and you should call before going.
Yes. You may pull the background check form online. You will need to present a valid driver’s license or identification card to the records personnel at the time you provide them the signed authorization form.
Individuals may visit the jail from 7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Wednesdays and 10:00 a.m - 11:00 a.m. on Sundays. Photo identification is required. Visitors are allowed approximately ten minutes; however, the time may be adjusted to meet the needs of the police department.
We operate under a civil service system and tests are offered at various times. Visit the city's employment section for the latest postings, or contact the civil service department at (330) 971-8150.
The police department will make time to speak with community organizations as long as scheduling permits. Call the Chief's office at (330) 971-8300.
Speak to the records department which handles all property brought into the police department. They may be reached at (330) 971-8303.
You may request a report through the records request section. Once the report is pulled, it can be emailed, or you may pick it up at the police department. Records personnel are typically in the office Monday through Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., and from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m on Fridays. It is always best to call first, to be sure your record is ready for pick-up. The records department may be reached at (330) 971-8303.
Yes. All you need to do is call the police department at (330) 928-2181 and ask to be put on the vacation home watch list. You will need to tell the dispatcher when you will be away, anyone who is allowed in the house while gone, a local contact who has keys to the house, and any lights that may be left on in your absence.
The best thing you could do is call the Shift Commanders Desk (330) 971-8333 and ask to speak to a shift supervisor who will work on the complaint with you.
The Cuyahoga Falls Police Department offers tours of the department, located inside the Municipal Building. Other programs include Police Ride-alongs, where civilians may travel with patrol officers for part of a shift, the Cuyahoga Falls Police Reserves, where trained civilians volunteer to assist the police department with various details, and the Citizens' Police Academy, that offers an overview of police and our community. For general information on these programs, call the non-emergency number at (330) 928-2181.
Yes. Auctions are held at various times throughout the year. Please check the local newspapers for dates and times.
No. Callers who state that they are soliciting funds for the Cuyahoga Falls Police Department should be reported to the police as soon as possible so an investigation may follow.
When you see a police officer behind you with emergency lights activated please do the following for the safety of everyone involved:
- Pull to the right side of the road as soon as safely possible.
- Do NOT get out of your vehicle unless the police officer directs you to do so.
- Sit still, place your hands on the steering wheel in plain sight, and wait for the officer to approach your vehicle.
- If it is dark outside, turn on your interior lights and keep your hands in sight of the officer. Do not attempt to hide your radar detector or any other objects, as police officers do not know what you’re reaching for and do not like to mistake your movements for those reaching for a weapon.
- The officer may ask you for a number of documents including your driver’s license, registration, or proof of insurance.
- If you receive a citation and do not feel you deserve it, the proper time to dispute the citation is in court - not on the side of the road.
- The officer will ask you to sign your citation. Signing your citation is not a statement of guilt of any kind; it signifies that the officer told you why you were stopped and cited, and that you received your copy of the ticket.
- Wait until the officer dismisses you before driving away.
The officer may have witnessed a traffic violation, or the vehicle involved may be the same type / color / model as was used in a recent crime.
If you believe that you have been mistreated by one of our police officers, you may call 330-971-8333 to speak with a shift supervisor or you may print the following form and return it to the Police Department located at 2310 2nd Street, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio 44221.
If your question is not answered here, or you would like more information on anything law enforcement-related, please call the Shift Supervisor at (330) 971-8333 or e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org.